back to article Kit makers trash New York e-waste recycling

Can't be bothered to recycle your old television set? Under New York City's new e-waste program, electronics manufacturers will be required to show up on residents' doorsteps and spirit away aged equipment free of charge. But two major electronics industry groups are fighting the city's new door-to-door recycling mandate …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Mike Flugennock
    FAIL

speaking strictly as an Earth-hugging hippie...

...this is the stupidest goddamn' idea I've heard today -- although it's only about 6pm here on the East Coast.

Seriously...I'm no expert, but I'd bet it'd be actually cheaper if, instead, they went around to all these folks and handed out free digital converter boxes instead. The Samsung portable analog set in the kitchen at our house is less than five years old; there's no goddamn' way in hell we're going to just throw the friggin' thing out. The wife and I took advantage of the coupons for converter boxes and got a couple -- one for the kitchen set, and a spare for the bedroom set (a 30-inch direct-view flat CRT) for those occasions when the satellite signal craps out.

Jeezus H. on a Segway... recycle my old TV set? Cripes, the damn' thing is mostly plastic, anyway.

2. SirTainleyBarking
    WTF?

Simple marketing

If the retailers dress this up as a free delivery service, and also add "And we'll take you old one away free as well", they'd get consumer buy-in, and be able to amortise the cost by a couple of percent of on cost. The big box retailers in the UK have been doing this for years

3. Murray Pearson 1
    FAIL

Clean air.....?

New York City is the only place I have visited (and I have traveled a bit) which I could smell INSIDE THE PLANE BEFORE IT LANDED. Not even Los Angeles was that stinky.....