back to article How can I secure a USB Flash drive?

I'd like to get a USB Flash drive that I can use to keep some personal information on securely - password-protected and encrypted, in other words. Do I have to buy a special drive to do this, or is there a way I can get the same results with software and a generic 16GB drive I have handy?

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Tony Smith, Editor, Reg Hardware (Written by Reg staff)

@Andre

You can. All you need is your Flash drive and a copy of TrueCrypt for your computer. It's an open source app, so it's free to download and use. It's cross-platform too.

More details in our Getting Started with TrueCrypt feature here: http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2009/04/30/intro_to_truecrypt/

2. Andrew
    Go

Go for TrueCrypt

I agree with the above, TrueCrypt is the best option. Its free and easy to use. I've been using it on my flash drives and computer for 3+ years now without a single hitch. In my encrypted partition I have PortableApps and ran the flash drive on my computer at an internship daily for 3 months so I could use Firefox; always flawless performance.

www.truecrypt.org/