back to article DARPA seeks 'Machine Reading' AI auto-analysis bot

The US military is seeking revolutionary new AI software which would be able to read text - and so effectively do research - in the same way that humans do. The so-called "Machine Reading" ware would initially be used for such tasks as automated military-intelligence analysis, but it would have wide consequences in civilian life …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Joke

good

Maybe they can start by investigating amanfrommars. Gotta have a "normative baseline" for these things.

2. Frumious Bandersnatch
    Stop

of course this won't work

Obligitary XKCD: http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/computational_linguists.png

3. Alan Jenney

Chicken-and-egg: self-taught

Now if only they had some software that could read and understand the formal language of the brief, which can create some software that could read and understand the ...

4. Anonymous Coward
    Boffin

Oh, good...

....so they're going to let this brilliant AI capable of reading have the whole of teh intarweb at its disposal? Seeing its recommendations based on the comments of idiots everywhere (think youtube comments) ought to be fun.

Time to find a place high up in the mountains where the robots dare not climb...

5. David Austin

title

The most amazing part of all that is:

"The U.S. military frequently faces impediments to stability and reconstruction operations in a new location due to the lack of understanding of the local situation."

Given the current state of overseas military exercises, that' probably the understatement of the year.

The more I hear from DAPRA, the more I think they've played a little bit too much Metal Gear...

6. TeeCee Gold badge
    Coat

They're building a Trojan Horse.

At last the NLRA has a weapon at it's disposal guaranteed to defeat the clankers.