back to article Scammers making '$15m a month' on fake antivirus

Figures suggesting that fake anti-virus packages are allowing cybercrooks to make more than €10m a month are been described as little better than guesswork. Vendors across the industry are warning that scarewore packages - which attempt to trick would-be marks into handing over their hard-earned cash for packages that claim to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Coat

Lusers !!!

The numbers do seem a bit "pulled out a hat, like a rabit " but iIknow from experiance that lots of people end up with ransomware on their pc's and just pay up. Most times I get to them before they pay.

If they do pay via CC then a charge back is often sucssesful. On eof the biggest problems is people using XP logged in as a local admin, I always make sure people home main account is non admin. Then you know if they want to install a application they have to use the special admin account.

Mines the one with autoruns/process explorer/spybot in the pocket.

2. Dave Morris
    Coat

Panda is so irresponsible...

How can they try to discourage people from making these purchases in a time when the economy is failing and needs more liquidity? Every one of these purchases feeds back into the global economy somewhere... think of the children!!! More and more will starve if we don't stimulate the economy somehow, why not buy some fake security software? When you think about it, is it really much worse than "real" security software? Next thing they'll be saying to stop paying your taxes because our governments are providing fake security measures!

3. Robert Moore
    Coat

Statistics

97.2% of all statistics are made up on the spot. 73.8% of people know that,

4. Mike
    Alert

They sure stopped AllOfMp3 from taking payments...