back to article UK border facial scan tests hit by errors and breakdowns

A trial of automated border control using facial scanners is already in trouble, according to UK Border Agency (UKBA) sources quoted by the Daily Telegraph. The scanners at Manchester airport, said one source, are breaking down on almost a daily basis, and the automatic booths are unable to detect 'tailgating', where two …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Charlie

Strange

I've been using the IRIS system at Heathrow for a few years now and never had a problem.

It works really well and there is a great satisfaction in getting off a red eye flight at six in the morning, seeing a massive queue at passport control and just breezing through the glass box of IRIS so I can then go and wait two hours for my bags.

I'm largely opposed to all of the ID schemes as proposed but do see the need for good security at airports and using technology to make the airport experience a bit more manageable. Clearly in Manchester they can't get it right.

Bozos

2. Nomen Publicus
    Alien

Where do they get these ideas?

Is it only the government that doesn't know that the state of the art of real world automatic face recognition is rubbish?

3. Tony

Hmmmm

I think it was Airplane 2 - the customs guys were watching as men openly carried through AK47s, M2s, RPGs etc, but then they pounced on a little old lady as she set the alarm off.

Now why does this article bring up that image.......

4. EnricoSuarve
    Flame

Are they serious about security or not?

I am sick of all this "be scared" terror bollocks...

If they are so damned serious about security, about the ever present threat of 101ml water bombs etc etc why are they constantly looking for ways to automate everything to save money?