back to article Time to blacklist blacklists

Blacklists have their place for detecting and identifying malicious content and activity, with the whole signature-based malware detection industry effectively being built around the concept that blacklists are reliable mechanisms. The only problem is that they aren't. They certainly are an important element of security …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Lexx Greatrex

Don't use antibiotics to fight cancer

"One of the greatest of human follies is belief in a panacea."

I have been a security consultant for about 15 years and it still amazes me that people believe in a silver bullet that will cure all security ills. It's ridiculous to place too much reliance on any one technology. Blacklists are just one such example of this. Others include...

"I have a firewall... why do I need anything else?"

"I have AV... why do I need anything else?"

"I have SpywareUberKiller Mega Edition 2008 v99... why do I need anything else?"

and my favorite one...

"I have a Mac... why do I need anything else?"

2. Levi

Clueless junk filters

"or they could have just had AOL mailing list subscribers who find it easier to report as spam than unsubscribe from something they manually subscribed to"

Amen.

You may use double opt in, remove bounces from your list immediately, have huge unsubscribe notices at the top and bottom of your email, and have fewer than 1% of users mark your email as "junk", but if one of those lazy users was an AOL user you better pray. It is all too easy for legitimate users to end up on blacklists thanks to "zero [fault] tolerance" systems.

3. Ian Michael Gumby

Got a better solution?

The author of the article seems to be against using black lists. Yet they are a line of defense which reduces the amount of spam being sent.