back to article Disaster in Cupertino: Apple only made US$9bn last quarter

Apple once again saw revenues drop, as 45.5 million iPhone 7 sales were not enough to boost its fourth-quarter earnings. CEO Tim Cook talked up the particularly strong performance of Apple's internet services while glossing over another quarter of falling revenues. "Our strong September quarter results cap a very successful …

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

In the grand scheme of things, only this counts:

Non-GAAP earnings per share were $1.68, topping analyst predictions of $1.65.

You top analyst predictions, your stock price goes up.

Now if I could get that much per share in dividends, I wouldn't need to work as much. Alas some of that goes to taxes and is kept outside of the greedy hands of the US tax collectors, but still better than predictions.

Me? I do own stock, and I'm a contractor here. Love getting paid twice.

1. Steve Davies 3 Silver badge

Re: In the grand scheme of things, only this counts:

In after hours trading, APPL was down 2%. Goes to show that even exceeding expectations isn't good enough for the arse speakers on Wall St.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

EPS was exceeded, but revenue was slightly below expectations....there's always something!

Apple shot up about 10% in a week when Samsung's shit hit the fan, which seemed a bit excessive to me since I would expect mostly other Android OEMs would benefit, so it was probably due for a bit of a correction.

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Not if the EPS guidance was not seen as correct, and the market expected better performance, and so priced their EPS expectation into the stock prior.

Second they could be taking profits as the results tell them it is time to sell. i.e. forward guidance is not convincing.

Stock movement isn't always about the moment, or the isolated value of <pick some stat of choice like EPS> at the quarterly.