back to article USA lets visiting Australian tech workers keep toiling while they wait for visa extensions

The United States has made a small-but-important change to the E-3 visa, an instrument that allows skilled Australians to work in the nation. The E-3 is similar to the controversial H1-B visa, as it allows skilled workers to ply their trade stateside and can be renewed every two years, indefinitely. Australians can't score the …

1. Mike Lewis

Great news!

This is great news! I'm an embedded programmer in Melbourne who's looking for work and this will reduce the competition, much the same way as six of my friends working in that area went overseas after Australia's electronics industry died and went to China. I can't do that myself as I'm looking after my mum. If you think finding parts for old hardware is difficult, try keeping someone going who was built in 1932.

1. GrumpyOldBloke

Re: Great news!

The Oz->US E3 visa has generally been under subscribed so competition getting a visa shouldn't be much different. Finding a job in competition with the Indian H-1B's probably won't have changed much. $4K is still chump change compared to the salaries a skilled US local would require.

2. Sevjer

As long as it is reciprocal, and U.S. wishing to work in Australia can do the same thing. U.K. for example makes it extremely tough for a U.S. Citizen.

3. cphi

It is

I understand the E-3 was mostly due to the FTA and that, like the FTA, was reciprocal - ie Australian visa rules were similarly relaxed for American workers. Certainly the number of American engineers temporarily working in Australia during the boom would suggest it was not difficult.

4. Bellthorpe

Please read more carefully