back to article NetBeans 6.5 beta promises PHP simplicity

Sun Microsystems has taken another step in its long journey towards greater support of open source by delivering the first beta of its next crop of NetBeans. The NetBeans 6.5 beta builds on the open source integrated development environment's earlier support for dynamic languages with support for PHP. Among the staples, PHP …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

thats nice.

As a PHP developer, i know i am certainly in need of yet another PHP IDE.

[/sarcasm]

Forgive me for not being familiar with netBeans in anything other than name, but is this product something that has a price tag or is it going to be available free in any form.

The only reason i draw attention to this, is not because i am freetard, but my experience of high end IDEs for PHP, such as Zend's studio, is that individually i dont want to fork out for it. I dont use ripped software, only free by open source. Then any employer i have to worked for as said the same thing, 'why do we need to spend x on zend when xyz will do this'.

This in my view is also why Symfony is much more widespread as a php framework than Zend.

SO Sun, you are integrating PHP in netBeans, well thats nice for you.

2. andy
    Thumb Down

keeping ahead of the times?!

"PHP users now get syntax highlighting, code completion, code generators, debugging and database wizards"

In other words, features which have been available in many other editors for a good number of years now! I recently started using Activestate Komodo for PHP development and have had no reason to switch back to anything I was using previously (e.g. Code View in Dreamweaver... no thanks!).

3. Goat Jam
    Thumb Down

Ubuntu

Yes, well, Ubuntu might see that sometime in Q4 2012. They still have 6.01 in their repos, You have to download the sun package if you want 6.1 and it looks like Intrepid will still provide 6.01.

God knows why.