back to article GMB tests Uber 'self-employed drivers' claim at London tribunal

UK union the GMB has brought two test cases to the Central London Employment Tribunal today to determine if Uber acted unlawfully by not providing its drivers with “basic workers’ rights”, such as holiday pay and a national minimum wage. This is the first time that Uber's claim that drivers are self-employed has been tested …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I don't understand how they can be guaranteed minimum wage when they are free to choose as many or as few fares as available.

Unless they are forced to take every fare presented and work set hours (which goes against the flexibility of being an Uber driver I presume) then how can this be correct?

If they are paid a set wage and Uber keeps any profits made and every has stringent targets that they have to achieve then this isn't really what drivers who sign up to Uber expect, surely?

1. Alfred

"I don't understand how they can be guaranteed minimum wage"

They're not.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I don't understand how they can be guaranteed minimum wage...

...when they are free to choose as many or as few fares as available.

Because the minimum wage is an hourly rate. It doesn't matter whether they work half an hour or 60 hours a week.

Posting stupid? Post anonymous.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: I don't understand how they can be guaranteed minimum wage...

A lot of the Black cabs now have a sign "cash only", i bet they also claim they dont earn minimum wage

How about all mini cab and taxi companies telling HMRC what jobs and fares drivers have taken and let the benefit office make up the difference based on minimum wage policy and tax credits.....bet most drivers would not like HMRC knowing that!!!

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

@Alfred @AC