back to article WordPress admin? Thinking of spending time with the family? Think again

The Dutch hacking community's Summer of Pwnage (SoP) has disclosed three vulnerabilities in WordPress plugins, including an XSS in the popular Ninja Forms. Since Ninja Forms claims more than 600,000 users, we'll start there: the now-fixed reflected XSS bug allows attackers to inject malicious JavaScript into the victim's …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

glad its you instead of me.

My job requires taking care of production servers but so grateful they are not internet facing ones especially ones required to run WP or even PHP. That kind of job is for the sadistic. Especially when the latest 0 day of an endless parade ends up getting upper management's attention due to carelessness of someone else.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: glad its you instead of me.

Seems you know little about WordPress then. I'm a somewhat vivid WordPress admin / user (maintain a blog on their website as well as one on my own servers) and this problem didn't bother me at all.

To put things a bit into perspective: the first plugin claims to have 600,000 users. But over 60 million people use WordPress (source: WordPress.org). So wouldn't it be fair to say that this only bothers a small portion of all the WordPress users out there?

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

I would post all the critical WP and plugin CVEs found but it would make for one very very long post. Not quite Adobe Flash long but probably not far off.

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

Re: Not quite Adobe Flash long

From what I hear about WordPress, they're at least trying to fix things. Adobe gives rather the reverse impression.

1. Captain Scarlet

Re: Not quite Adobe Flash long

Its a bit harsh, any CMS or blog platform is subject to the same issues.