back to article Parliament is building a new website – and it doesn't want GDS anywhere near it

The UK Parliament is hiring a load of web developers, analysts and UX folk as it prepares to revamp its website – and it's keeping the whole project well away from the Government Digital Service, The Register has learned. Parliament's website, while functional and reasonably clear, is a bit long in the tooth – and its …

1. The Man Who Fell To Earth Silver badge
    WTF?

With GDS, it's harder to engage in patronage

What ridiculousness do you want? Clean government?

2. andy 103

MP's should educate themselves about the web first!

As a web developer, I cringe whenever I read articles like this.

With all due respect those who work in parliament have little to no understanding of how the web works, much less what users want from it, how they use it, or the technology that powers it.

They should start by contracting professionals to educate THEMSELVES (i.e. members of parliament) in how things work, and how end users have vastly differing requirements. Until then it's hard to take anything they're saying seriously and very concerning they're spending vast sums of money on something they know frankly nothing about.

1. BoldMan

Re: MP's should educate themselves about the web first!

This isn't being run by MPs but by the people who run the Houses of Parliament, they are different things.

2. Tom Womack

Re: MP's should educate themselves about the web first!

That's exactly what they did; they looked at theyworkforyou.com and then asked the people who designed that to tell them what they needed to do for the Parliament Web site. Seems a pretty decent approach to me.

3. macjules
    WTF?

Won't someone think of poor Capita?

Why, oh why have they not brought yours and mine favourite web destroyers developers to do this? At the very least they could allow pay Capita £25m to put up the 'construction in progress' page, like GDS did with www.data.gov.uk.