back to article Do you know where your trade secrets are?

Information security (infosec) is no longer a nice-to-have. It is a matter of corporate survival. Even the smallest company can be weakened by the simple loss of a customer list, ruined by the fallout from the loss of protected customer information. There's a lot more to infosec than merely hunkering down behind a firewall. As …

1. JeffyPoooh
    Pint

In many companies...

Step 1) Allocate a budget

Step 2) Assign a charge number

Else nothing else will happen.

1. Buzzword

Re: In many companies...

Step 0) Find a client's project to charge it to.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Information Security. Depite being an Information Security Officer I'm not really allowed to talk about Information Security. I have to call it Cyber Security or possibly Digital Security which ignores the fact I have to deal with the paper as well.

The board demands reports on 'cyber security' then complains they can't understand it then refuse all attempts to provide awareness training to them. They read reports then complain that it mentioned 'risks' and 'vulnerabilities'. I had to change them all to 'opportunities for improvement'.

They have no interest in being secure if it affects their pet projects. They refuse to implement basic security measures for 'reasons' then deny ever having done so even though minutes prove it.

I'm sure that advert with the board made up of toddlers is factually correct.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I've had some success pointing out (tactfully) that its the loss of business value that gets people the sack.

Losing a list of clients means nothing. Losing clients because you lost their data means lost money, lost value and potentially a lost job.