back to article Computer says: Stop using MacWrite II, human!

My first proper job was at the university at which I'd been studying; when I graduated in Computing Science there were a couple of tech support jobs going and I managed to bag one of them. I started as the Unix guy (these were the days when SunOS was still SunOS – the Solaris name was yet to come) but later on I gravitated into …

1. Alan Bourke

We had a Mac network in college in the late 80s.

It was great. Immense fun to be had going round the machines and using ResEdit to assign an orgasmic sigh sample on floppy insertion, then watching confused agricultural science students look around the room in a panicked fashion.

1. Anonymous Custard
      Headmaster

Re: We had a Mac network in college in the late 80s.

Did something similar back in the uni days on the student newspaper. Replaced the innocuous warning beepy-bingy noise with the editor loudly proclaiming "Don't do that!" in his best managerial voice (said chap ended up in later life briefly as a government minister, which may allow those with Google-Fu to work out which university and timescale this was).

Was then quite fun to watch the reaction of the various editors and section writers who used the machines when they made the inevitable small mistakes to elicit the warning.

2. deadlockvictim

I had fun with that too, only I used John Cleese's 'Are there any women here today?' from 'The Life of Brian'. The consternation it caused was immense. Ah, happy days.

3. Scaffa

"Immense fun to be had going round the machines and using ResEdit to assign an orgasmic sigh sample on floppy insertion"

Mine said "Christ knock it off! I'm up at seven tomorrow!" on insertion.

2. Conrad Longmore
    Facepalm

Gragh, students and their sodding games