back to article Quotemehappy? No, I'm furious: Insurance site loses customer details

Aviva-owned online-only insurance business Quotemehappy.com has informed customers that there has been a data breach at its website. Quotemehappy announced that it had "recently" lost a "small number" of customers' details, comprising "vehicle registration, email address, mobile number, landline number and address." An email …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Similar to the...

Steam caching error then? I'm not technical on it, but I hear it's a change to caching https when only http or other safe data should be cached.

Sometimes the "apply to all" button needs removing with force. :P

2. IT Hack

Aviva Quote

Quotemehappy.com has identified an incident where a small percentage of customers were able to see another customer’s contact details, such as name, address and telephone number, when they logged into their account.

These details could not be changed and no sensitive, personal or financial, information could be viewed or accessed.

The issue has now been fully resolved and we have contacted all impacted customers to explain the situation and have notified the FCA and the ICO.

------------------

And I hope both the ICO and FCA smacks these muppets upside the head.

You can see the details but not view them? Notwithstanding this invention called writing that can be used, you know to write stuff down. You know...access?

Telephone numbers and addresses with names...that's bad enough but to make a statement like that is justification enough to stand, point and laugh at these idiots.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Aviva Quote

"And I hope both the ICO and FCA smacks these muppets upside the head."

I sense disappointment on the horizon...

Both the ICO and FCA are toothless entities there only to serve those they are supposed to investigate.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward