back to article CPS fined £200k over theft of laptops holding 'sensitive interviews'

The Crown Prosecution Service has been slapped with a £200,000 fine by the Information Commissioner's Office for negligence that led to the theft of laptops containing police interviews regarding violent and sexual cases. The interviews were with 43 victims and witnesses and involved 31 investigations. Some of those related to …

1. M7S

Now if the ICO was able, as they would like, to impose a jail term for serious data losses

that would be really interesting for the CPS person(s) involved.

"Hello, I'm your new cellmate. This is my first time, through this entrance at least. No, I'm not a disgraced police officer, I'm an ex-prosecutor. Why?"

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Re: Now if the ICO was able, as they would like, to impose a jail term for serious data losses

Wouldn't the CPS be the ones deciding if they should press criminal charges against the CPS ?

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

quelle surprise

The CPS who seem quite happy to arrive at court with no paperwork and more or less stand up and tell the judge that the dog ate their homework. They don't seem able to find their own arses even when their heads are inserted in there.

1. cd

Re: quelle surprise

Can't see the forest for the polyps.

3. Marcus Fil

A government organisation

being trusted with important, sensitive data - what was the Home Secretary thinking of? FFS how many more examples do we need of why the civil service, including the intelligence agencies, cannot be trusted to keep private data private?

4. djstardust

Government fines government

Completely pointless.

1. Bob Vistakin
      Facepalm

Re: Government fines government

Exactly.

There's no difference here between them writing a £200k cheque and a £0 one.

2. circusmole

Re: Government fines government

Agreed, completely pointless. So the director of the CPS just shrugs shoulders and carries on exactly as before.