back to article Experian-T-Mobile US hack: 'We trusted them, now that trust is broken'

The IT security breach that spilt the personal details of an estimated 15 million T-Mobile US phone contract applicants has thrown a new spotlight on the risks of breaches at third-party companies. T-Mobile's own systems weren't compromised. Rather, the source of the leak was Experian, the company that processed the carrier's …

1. Turtle

An Icon. An Iconic Icon, Necessary But Missing.

I was going to make a ridiculing and contemptuous remark about "internet security" and "data protection" but when I went to choose a suitable icon (a site feature that I have never used before), I couldn't find what I was looking for - an image of a wedge of swiss cheese.

'Cos it comes to "internet security" and "data protection" a wedge of swiss cheese is the only appropriate emblem.

2. elDog

Hello fox, here's the hen house

The last thing in the world I want is one of these "credit monitoring agencies" looking at my private bits.

And yet that is exactly what you get if you are targeted by Target.com, Walmart, Gap, Whatever. After you have had all your privates lifted, you are supposed to trust them again to some fine group of spies to keep an eye on them.

Shit, do they think we're that stupid? (rhetorical only.)

1. ecofeco Silver badge

Re: Hello fox, here's the hen house

We would be that stupid if we had a choice, but everyone IS in the credit industries system and there are no alternatives short of going full monk or wilderness man.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Welcome to the cloud.

4. Vector

Another Incorrect Conclusion

"Ultimately, T-Mobile's customers aren't going to care where and how the breach occurred, the bottom line is they trusted T-Mobile with their sensitive data and now that trust is broken," Brown added.