back to article Whoops, there goes my cloud: What to do when AWS foresakes you

It's been an interesting period for cloud services, with both Amazon and Skype suffering major outages. In Amazon's case it was a good old-fashioned network interruption that caused significant knock-on effects (it released a very frank explanation that is well worth a read). As for Skype it was a configuration change that broke …

1. Anonymous Custard
    Headmaster

Simple fact of life

A good provider is one who learns from their mistakes and problems.

A better provider of course is one who also learns from those of their peers and competitors, and also from the past.

1. Your alien overlord - fear me

Re: Simple fact of life

learns from their peers *and* acts to make sure it doesn't happen to them.

1. Anonymous Custard

Re: Simple fact of life

Personally I take one to include the other.

But then I'm an engineer and not a manager, so probably a fair point to make...

2. Your alien overlord - fear me

You say boutique suppliers may not have geographic redundancy but it seems neither does AWS or Skype it seems.

This is why I can't get it into my head why people bother with cloudy stuff. At the end of the day, it's just your data sitting on someone else's server, somewhere out of your eyesight. It'll be run by the same level of competence as your own in house engineers (take that either way) but without you knowing exactly how the setup is and what security/resilience/redundancy is in place.

1. AMBxx Silver badge

Yep

Whenever anything does go badly wrong, it always seems to be something trivial that just snowballs - DNS typically.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: what security/resilience/redundancy is in place.

What you said, plus...

Do these offsite clouds offer any realistic way for customers to run a test to see how the system behaves when things start to go titsup? Thought not.