back to article Confession: I was a teenage computer virus writer

I was 17 years old, I had nothing to do, and I wanted to teach myself programming. So I decided to write a computer virus. Don't worry. The two viruses that I ended up writing – Leprosy and Leprosy-B – were designed to infect MS-DOS computers. They knew nothing about the internet, because neither did I at the time, and these …

1. Andrew Moore

I suspect a lot of us did this back in the day...

The only virus I wrote was only designed to annoy a friend. And set to die after a particular timescale.

1. Rich 11

Re: I suspect a lot of us did this back in the day...

I wrote an Excel macro just to demonstrate to a manager that it was possible for a spreadsheet or word-processing document to wipe a floppy disk simply by getting someone to open it. When he realised that it could just as easily have been the C: drive, we had an anti-virus policy written and approved within a week.

I'll leave you to guess which poor sod then had to go around installing anti-virus software on every machine.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Back in the days when floppy discs were exchangable we had one guy who hoarded them. He must have had hundreds of discs, because he never gave a single one back or gave anybody a disc with files on. This was considered a bit rude, and we started to get low on discs so needed to get them back.

Seeking to solve the problem I wrote a simple batch file on my disc that simply created a directory on the HDD, copied the files and then printed a message saying "this message will self destruct in five seconds..." followed by wiping the floppy, and printing a message saying "NOW GIVE ME THE FLOPPY BACK!"

It worked, but everybody involved started doing similar things and we all got a lot more cautious about opening anything vaguely executable from external sources, which has proven to be a useful habit!

2. Andy Non Silver badge