back to article Photoshop for 40 quid: Affinity Photo pushes pixels further than most

When El Reg tested the leading alternatives to Photoshop we told you to keep an eye out for Affinity Photo, a Mac-only rival from Serif that looked like being the best yet. It’s now out of beta and available for £40, which would buy you a Photoshop subscription for less than five months. Serif Affinity Photo This is an app …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Very useful review

I'm not a pro but I've found the Affinity apps to be very usable. The Adobe situation is reminiscent of when Quark got too entrenched and complacent.

2. Tannin

Let me know when it works on computers.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Let me know when it works on computers.

Till then, stick with the MS Word clip art

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Till then, stick with the MS Word clip art

I'll not downvote you for the snark, but it is a bit misguided. Tannin's comment was, for a lot of us, spot on.

I know that the Mac has some sort of unholy attraction for graphics people (e.g. my nephew) and I've pointed people in the direction of a Mac as their platform of choice in specific circumstances (yeah, yeah, I'll burn in Gehenna for that), alas, due to constraints beyond our immediate control, some of us have no choice but to do graphics related work with the beast that is MS windows, and (especially now) a £40 supported photoshopesque package would be a good thing (e.g. we could throw this to the PHB who is currently balking at paying the Adobe tax for newer versions of Photoshop - and I don't blame him).

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

A very reasonable position, very reasonably put. Unlike Tannin, you're not trolling to try and start the inevitable and oh so very tedious Mac/PC flamewar.