back to article HTC caught storing fingerprints AS WORLD-READABLE CLEARTEXT

Four FireEye researchers have found a way to steal fingerprints from Android phones packing biometric sensors such as the Samsung Galaxy S5 and the HTC One Max. The team found a forehead-slapping flaw in HTC One Max in which fingerprints are stored as an image file (dbgraw.bmp) in a open "world readable" folder. "Any …

1. This post has been deleted by its author

1. Rolf Howarth

I'm curious at a practical level how knowing what someone's fingerprint looks like can help you empty their bank account. I mean, every time you go touch something you leave a fingerprint, so if they wanted to someone could dust it off and photograph it and perhaps even transfer it to a rubber mould or something. But then what? They'd need physical possession of your mobile phone wouldn't they?

Assuming I was a malware author and had remote access to someone's phone half way round the world how does reading the fingerprint image by itself help me in any way? On the other hand, if I've got control of their phone then logging all the user's password and PIN key presses, and monitoring their email in box for password reset emails and redirecting those to my account, would seem a lot more fruitful.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Try again, no rush

As has been said on here many times, you cannot change your fingerprints.

Once your fingerprints are compromised what do you do, thank HTC for their broad and non-personal apology (if they issue one)?

If a load of user accounts are compromised and then everyone updates their password, the attacker's password data is useless. Not so with fingerprints... they just need another half arsed attack later to get some more unchangable data and then another minor compromise ... none of the stolen data on finger prints gets old.. its valid data until you die.