back to article Right Dabbsy my old son, you can cram this job right up your BLEEEARRGH

Slinking away early from yet another works leaving party this week, I was reminded with some regret that I will never get one of my own. All those nice words spoken, all those pats on the back, all those clinking glasses of pub house wine. How lovely it must be to be surrounded by so many faithful colleagues celebrating the fact …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Memory for names

I once worked with a brilliant guy - PhD physicist who had worked in academia and industry - who simply could not remember names. However, a bigger problem was that he never got military ranks, a handicap on MoD projects.

What I learnt from this is that majors addressed as sergeant find it amusing, sergeants addressed as major feel insulted.

1. Proud Father
      Facepalm

Re: Memory for names

>> sergeants addressed as major feel insulted.

Don't call me Sir, I work for a living!

1. Anonymous Coward
        Thumb Up

Don't call me Sir, I work for a living! My Mother taught me that one when I was little, been using it ever since. She's also ex-Navy.

2. Graham Dawson Silver badge

I suspect they invented the title of Sergeant Major just to troll people like him.

3. Anonymous Coward
      Happy

I've always had a shocking memory for names.

About half my working life in the UK was as a freelance with about 100ish clients most of which were very small outfits but kept me busy for 60-70 hours per week. Come the Xmas piss up season I'd bump into most of them at various trade parties along with many other freelances that I'd occasionally work with. As a name-forgetter it was a nightmare. Eventually I figured out a method of avoiding social embarrassment.