back to article Starbucks denies mobile app hack, blames careless customers

Starbucks has rebuffed claims that its mobile app has been hacked, in the wake of reports that scores of its US customers have suffered from credit card fraud. The coffee chain’s US customers have been reporting the theft of hundreds of dollars from their credit cards, in a series of scams seemingly linked to auto top-ups on …

1. yoganmahew

Surely time for different security....

So the standard response of security 'experts' - regularly change your passwords (hah, as if I even know what accounts I have) and two-factor authentication (hah, so every time I use a two-bit account I have to wave my dongle at it?).

Surely the time has come for something different? Don't ask me what, I'm not an expert, but don't expect me to spend hours keeping track of and constantly updating online accounts...

1. Anonymous Coward
      Go

Re: Surely time for different security....

DNA is the answer. You should need to supply a small sample of some body fluid (your choice which kind), which is then checked against a central government database of DNA linked to bank details. If you had your hands full with shopping, then perhaps a shop assistant could, well, assist you in providing the sample.

Clearly that's the answer. I cant really think of any drawbacks.

1. tony2heads

What about identical twins?

2. User McUser
        Alert

DNA is the answer.

Oh good Lord no. No no no. Do you know how easy it is to get a DNA sample from someone? We *continually* shed our DNA all over the place; you'd hardly have to even try! Just need a few skin cells or a bit of saliva, and you can use cheap and easy PCR methods to amplify your sample into something more usable.

Though using the DNA in a strand of hair to gain full administrative access to a computer would give a whole new meaning to "getting root access."

2. Ian 62

Doesn't necessarily need to be a dongle.