back to article Non-American nerds jam immigration pleading for right to live in the US

Just one week after announcing it is once again accepting H-1B visa applications, the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) has slammed the floodgates shut. H-1B visas are like Willy Wonka's golden tickets: they are granted to skilled foreigners – such as software engineers and other techies – allowing them to live …

1. John H Woods Silver badge

Looks tricky ...

... if you really want to go, best to marry an American :-)

1. phil dude
      Joke

Re: Looks tricky ...

It all *sounds* good until it is made into a movie with G. Depardieu....

P.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Or get a job with a US Corp and get an internal transfer?

3. Aitor 1

I did, I work in IT and would prefer no to move to the US.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Given the USA is an ultra-paranoid surveillance state I'm surprised there isn't a line of people queuing to get out.

1. Dan Paul

@AC

Given that the reason why people are paranoid here is because of a massively multiplying multitude of morons like you, I wouldn't be surprised. YOU must be the one who is paranoid as no place in the world has as many surveillance cameras as London, (or Britain) so that must mean you are queing for our H1B.

However, the majority of us Americans are able to look past your kinds BS and thus are still here.

1. Mike Smith

Re: @AC

"Given that the reason why people are paranoid here is because of a massively multiplying multitude of morons like you"

But which came first, Dan? The chicken or the egg?

Think about it.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

But which came first, Dan? The chicken or the egg?

Honestly, you're asking that here? The rooster, obviously.

2. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Funny, but seriously the quality of most of the H1Bs... even the masters level applicants ... leave a lot to be desired.