back to article Want to deploy virtual machines in a hurry? PowerShell is your friend

Sometimes you just need to do things fast. Being able to deploy new virtual machines rapidly is a necessity when you are prototyping proof of concepts, running virtual desktop deployments or when you just need to roll out new virtual machines in a lab environment. Let’s face it, unless you have written PowerShell scripts to …

1. Electron Shepherd

Some Questions

For us mere mortals without enterprise MS agreements, what are the licensing implications of just starting multiple copies of Office and so on?

Are the GIs activated already?

You mention GIs that have updates installed. How do you keep them updated as new patches are released on Patch Tuesday?

1. Forty Two

Re: Some Questions

Short answer - jail time.

I may be doing it wrong as I am fairly new to VM's or perhaps there is a better way but you will need volume license key or whatever they call it this year for office and windows. I activate the "golden image" and the deployed machines are good to go. No good answer for updates other than to deploy the image, do updates and immediately make a new image. Even if not completely up to date it is still a timesaver as deploying a 2008R2 machine ( /shame, yes we still do ) from the original .iso is at least an hour of updating so having an image that is only a month or 3 behind is a real help. But yes, keeping images up to date with updates is a chore.

Be aware that having the volume key and an activated machine vs. the actual number of machines legally licensed to use are two different things. At least for us in .edu

Eagerly await better answers from people more clever than myself.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

PowerShell is a step backwards