back to article WD reveals NASty new boxes for home and small biz use

WD has updated its My Cloud NAS products, adding more oomph for prosumers and two boxes for small-business-filing fanatic users. WD estimates we should expect 3.3TB of data storage in every home by 2016, and NAS is the way we should store files in homes and small businesses. WD claims its Red drive has the greatest drive …

1. This post has been deleted by its author

1. Haku
      Thumb Up

Re: Fancy a bit of DIY?

If hot-swapping isn't a requirement, take a look at the Fractal Node 304 case. Holds up to 6 drives (7 if you get a 2.5" PCI backplane mount), Mini-ITX form factor, utilises a standard ATX PSU, 3 whisper-quiet fans with 3-speed setting, looks sleek and is solidly built.

1. P. Lee

Or if you have more space, I got a midi cooler-master case with 8 bays in it for the princely sum of AUD 34.00 (new) about a year ago.

I know, I'm cheap.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

The latestt intel atom 8 core is very nice for this. Supermicro makes a mini-itx SoC with the Atom and is capped at 64GB of RAM. SoC seems like tbe way to go for home.

Not to be too cynical, but the hardware in these WD units ...blow (or something representing not great at all). It's my opinion that if you're serious about a home server, just head over to Supermicro and pick something then see how cheep you can find it. Anything bigger thana micro-itx form factor is just peacocking.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Ebuyer were doing a Xeon 1245v3 Lenovo ThinkServer TS440 for £299.99 last week, sadly all gone now - that was a steal.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Would be much better off buying something like iXsystems FreeNAS Mini - http://www.amazon.com/FreeNAS-Mini-Network-Attached-Diskless/dp/B00EQJ1BTU

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

@Anon: How much??? :-o

(body)

3. thomas k.

anti-stylish?