back to article Small cells are like DRUNKS. They don't use lamp posts for light, they use 'em for support

A new design of mobile cell site that sits on top of an existing street light has been developed British design company The Technology Partnership (TTP). Street lights are an obvious place to put mobile network infrastructure. They're erected in the places where there are lots of people and they have a power supply. While …

1. Dave 126 Silver badge

>Steve Baker prefers a point to multi-point microwave approach,

I'm no expert, but I would have thought a Line Of Sight approach naturally fits lampposts, since from one lamppost you can usually see others.

1. TRT Silver badge

Being as the lamps form natural horizontals at around 10 metres height...

They could used RFC1149 for the backhaul. IPoAC. Simples.

2. TRT Silver badge

And from the other end, there's an ongoing drive to turn street lights into connected neighbourhoods with intelligent, individually addressable lamps for the purposes of energy and infrastructure management. Two birds, one live cable touching an unearthed casing.

1. Jimmy2Cows Silver badge

Ongoing drive,,,

Around here there's an ongoing drive to turn off street lights between midnight and 5 am as the council's skint.

Hopefully that means each individual lamp is controlled so it may be switched on/off remotely without killing the power supply. Knowing how our council likes to "plan" things they probably just pull the plug at the control centre. That's the kind of thing that could kill this idea dead.

Can't imagine residents being happy about loss of mobile signal overnight. Sure, I'd hope there'd be fallback to a larger cell, but I can easily see the cellco's removing the larger cells if they have street-light coverage. Cost savings and all that.

1. TRT Silver badge

Re: Ongoing drive,,,