back to article Facebook poaches design talent from Toronto firm – fate of staff unknown

A Toronto, Canada-based design firm has closed its doors after Facebook poached the boutique outfit's partners. On Friday, Teehan+Lax's bosses waved goodbye to their old offices – where it's understood they had employed around 40 staff – when they confirmed the move to San Francisco to work at the Mark Zuckerberg-run free- …

1. PleebSmash
    Terminator

Zuck

One of the most menacing photos I've ever seen.

2. JonP

We talked a lot about what we wanted from our professional lives...

blah blah blah then Mark offered us an obscene amount of money blah blah blah [insert generic justifications here] blah blah blah...

FTFY

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Oh don't come over all high and mighty. I'd do the same, sorry to say I work for a living purely for money, no other reason. No noble excuses or any other reasons, it's purely mercenary. It gives me money so I can pay to do something far more useful with my time when I'm not at work.

Now obviously in these circumstances there's employee welfare a possible consideration? However if the employees were all short-term contractors then that's part of the risk we take for being partially our own bosses in this game, the freedom to not be tied down to a single employer. No it's not nice but it's part and parcel of the style in which we run our IT careers.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"Oh don't come over all high and mighty. I'd do the same..."

I'm sure a lot of people would. The point here though is the generic PR-speak that tries to pretend the move was made for higher goals, rather than just a massive bucket of cash.

I tried to read it all, but it seemed to be written in "wank".

3. Barry Rueger

Evil Corp Speak