back to article Welsh council rapped for covert spying on sick leave worker

A council that ordered covert surveillance of a sick employee has been ordered to review its practices following an investigation by data privacy watchdogs. An Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) investigation found that Caerphilly Council breached the Data Protection Act when it ordered the surveillance of an employee …

1. Jagged
    WTF?

Early Stage?

"...before resorting to covert surveillance at such an early stage"

That makes it sound like might possibly be reasonable to do so at a later stage! *Grr!*

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Early Stage?

As someone who has had his arm twisted to use CCTV to confirm timesheets during my tenure as an IT manager I can only say: "This does not surprise me".

Welcome to Britain - doing this elsewhere in Europe f.e. in Germany would have resulted in the relevant manager in the council immediately and summarily dismissed with a lifetime blacklist entry.

In Britain - you get an "ICO rap" - as per the classic Lafountaine fable: "The cat continues to eat regardless".

2. Swarthy

Hmm, this could be an interesting discussion.

In the US, you usually don't get 4 weeks of sick time, unless you had short-term disability, which usually kicks in around 2-3 weeks (just after you have used all of your sick and vacation time) and is often a 3rd party insurance.

Would it be worth the occasional covert surveillance to actually be able to use sick (not vacation) time, and not have to shell out for additional insurance, for an injury/illness that lasts more than a week?

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

America is pretty stuffed when it comes to looking after people in the workplace. It could learn a lot from Europe.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Quote: America is pretty stuffed

Maybe. If when you say Europe, you mean proper Europe. UK is definitely not Europe as far as staff is concerned.