back to article Orion Space shuttle wannabe preps again for test flight

NASA’s Orion is fuelling up once again for its second day of attempted launches for its first ever test flight. The space shuttle successor was due to blast off yesterday, Thursday, but the take off was scrubbed after a number of attempts over the two-and-a-half-hour launch window were nixed. A boat in the red zone caused the …

1. Stanislaw
    Boffin

Idle curiosity

Because I am not a rocket scientist, I wonder how many times you can fill & empty the tanks on one of these things before the repeated contraction & expansion degrades something to the point where it's no longer flight-worthy.

Or once on the pad, do they keep the tanks cold all the time (not full - just cold) to prevent such a thing?

1. Andrew Newstead

Re: Idle curiosity

You are right, there is a limit to continued fuelling/defueling but this applies to consecutive attempts to launch. If this flight attempt does not happen today then they will have to wait 3 or 4 days before they try again to allow the rocket's tanks to settle down, I believe that NASA did say Sunday or Monday. Surprisingly Aluminium tanks are fairly forgiving of this kind of treatment and can be used for quite a lot of such cycles before being considered scrap. The main issue would be metal fatigue due to the cycling. This is the problem that did for the early Comet airliners but they have the addition of square corner windows which exacerbated the problem. Once this had been solved we now see Aluminium tubes (airliners) being cycled many times a day without failure and can have cycle numbers going into 10's of thousands.

1. BristolBachelor Gold badge

I believe that the valves need to be re-serviced after 3 attempts, but I am not too involved in that end of the rocket - my stuff is at the top.

1. Andrew Newstead
          Pint

Up vote for working in the biz!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

but wait!