back to article UK.gov biz dept: Youth apprentice? Get a degree while you're hired

Blighty’s government has come up with a new plan to get kids into science, tech, engineering and maths careers – by giving ‘em a degree along with their apprenticeship. The Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) reckons degree apprenticeships could “revolutionise” the way the yoof get their digital skills and has …

1. Mike Pellatt

Oh look, a "thin sandwich" course...

1. frank ly

Yes, this takes me back to the 70s when I was a student apprentice on a thin sandwich course. The entire system requires companies to have faith in their future, a 'vision' of long term stability in their operations and willingness to invest time and money in their staff.........

I remember a manager telling me that he wasn't happy that I and my fellow apprentices were given 'time off with pay' to attend a degree course, because we'd just leave for a better job when we'd finished. I said that we might do but the company could also recruit new staff who'd themselves had a degree education as well as experience in appropriate areas by similar methods, so everyone would benefit. He went quiet and scratched his head over that one.

1. Roland6 Silver badge

Re: this takes me back to the 70s

Yes this does seem like a re-invented and re-invigorated(?) HND.

Back in the 70's you basically had four degree choices:

Full-time degree - typically run a University (BSc).

Sandwich degree - typically run by Polytechnics (BSc/HND), but also offered by some Universities (BSc).

Day/block release - Available from polytechnics and FE colleges aimed at apprentices, resulting in an HND

Spare time - An OU degree (BSc)

But totally agree with you, investing in students and apprentices requires a level of confidence in their future from companies that seems to be in short supply these days.

1. Mike Pellatt