back to article Feeling safe in your executive hotel suite, Mr CEO? Well, DON'T

Corporate bosses are coming under attack from a shadowy new group that spreads malware by hijacking the networks of luxury hotels. Kaspersky Labs' Global Research & Analysis Team has issued a warning about an advanced persistent threat designed by a crew called Darkhotel, who target top execs as they relax in plush hotel rooms …

1. Joe Drunk
    Facepalm

Consider the target

High level execs are the most technologically handicapped people on this planet and therefore ripe targets for this kind of threat in spite of the rigorous security tools and policies on their laptops.

When I was a PC tech we repeatedly cleaned malware/bloatware from many senior officers' company provided laptop because most didn't want to be bothered and just gave it to their kids to play with.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Consider the target

You might be right but if they're exploiting zero day vulnerabilities then you can't really blame them this time.

1. John Riddoch

Article mentions fake downloads for software (e.g. Acrobat/Flash) which loads on Malware. At that point, you're pretty much giving away control of your laptop to the writers of that "update" so no zero days required.

It's still a slick way of breaking into your target's computer, though.

2. InfiniteApathy
      Big Brother

Lumping them all together like that is a tad unfair.

Really do consider the target though, this sounds quite likely to be state sponsored.

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

High level execs are the most technologically handicapped people on this planet and therefore ripe targets for this kind of threat in spite of the rigorous security tools and policies on their laptops.

When I was a PC tech we repeatedly cleaned malware/bloatware from many senior officers' company provided laptop because most didn't want to be bothered and just gave it to their kids to play with.