back to article Tories would have to compensate ID vendors

A Conservative government would have to compensate suppliers of the National Identity Scheme for lost profits as well as costs if it cancelled the project. "To guarantee these payments knowing that a future Conservative government has already said it will scrap ID cards is improper and quite extraordinary," shadow home …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Joke

pfft

You're forgetting that no newly-elected goverment has EVER done what it promissed in a pre-election warm up.

If they do.... how does £10 a week sound?

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Might be a way round it

I'm not a lawyer, but its part of what laughably passes for a constitution in this country that no Parliament can bind its successors. In effect, the ID Card Act can be repealed simply by passing another Act of Parliament. So surely a suitably drafted bill could be passed into statute that cancelled the scheme without compensation to 'stakeholders'.

Or the Tories could simply refuse to pay, say they've just moved in to the place and the bailiffs can chase the previous occupants. Though they may not be able to get their money back, between Blunkett's paternity payments and stories circulating today that the finances of the Labour Party are about to go boo.com in the next few weeks, there won't be much left.

3. Moz

Money is a small price to pay...

for freedom.

4. Ian Stephenson
    Flame

Scorched earth politics

So it looks like NuLabour is practising scorched earth politics. They know they have already lost the next election so now it is all about burdening the next government with the backlash of their illconceived and downright improper policies.

There should be an investigation into these contracts and if any member of Labour financially benefits from these contracts it should be treated as a deliberate acceptance of a bribe and criminal charges should ensue.

5. Anonymous Coward