back to article PEAK IPV4? Global IPv6 traffic is growing, DDoS dying, says Akamai

Broadband and IPv6 are hot – and distributed denial-of-service attacks and IPv4 are not. Well, that's according to Akamai. The cache-and-carry-on biz said in its latest State of the Internet report that, for the first time ever, the average connection speed for netizens is more than 4Mbps, meaning your average punter has a " …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Was working on ipv6 proto's back in the late 90's. It's salutary how slow some infrastructure changes.

1. K
      Pint

Agreed

I've been pestering my company's ISP for the past 3 years, they still show no sign of rolling it out, but then they have no qualms in bitching each time I ask for a new /24..

2. ZeroSum
    Thumb Up

Good to see

It has been a slow moving beast, but it is inexorable. Eventually even the more clueless ISPs will adopt it.

3. intrigid

I thought that IPv6 networks were completely isolated from the IPv4 internet, and that switching to IPv6 would basically require building a brand new internet from scratch (except for physical cables obviously, so OSI layers 2 thru 7). Can someone set me straight here?

1. ZeroSum

The boxes plugged into the cables and fibre are also shared

Separate infrastructure is the exception.

2. channel extended
      Meh

Old School Machines

The early routers and switches were IP4 only, as time went on they were replaced with machines that could handle both protocols. This is why there is still only one internet network.

Manufactors saw IP4/IP6 compatible machines as a marketing tool at first and now you can't buy a router that only does IP4, not new anyway. The long slow rollout of IP6 is due to the fact that it started early, and wasn't seen as urgent.

3. Tom Maddox Silver badge

I'll take my best shot