back to article Microsoft cries UNINSTALL in the wake of Blue Screens of Death™

Microsoft has urged users to remove a buggy update as it yanked download links to the offending patch, after reports emerged it caused the dreaded blue screen of death. The fixes issued on Patch Update Tuesday addressed privilege escalation bugs but an apparent font cache clearing issue lead to Windows boxes turning the colour …

1. Paul Anderson

I've been saying for some time now that quality control and the delivery mechanism in Microsoft Update are both stuffed.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I've been saying for some time now that quality control and the delivery mechanism in Microsoft Update are both stuffed.

I've been saying the same thing for at least 15 years. Maybe even over 20. It was readily apparent with all the heap, stack and buffer overrun problems way back when. They were much too interested in adding supposed features instead of fixing the bugs as should have been done. It is one of the reasons why I left the support industry. Like the old "Where is the ANY key?" question that one can only answer so many times before exploding, one can only fix the same systems from the same bugs only so many times. $$$ be damned.

2. Bob Vistakin
      Facepalm

Their ad delivery system here on the Reg certainly isn't stuffed - I find it says it all when, surrounded by microsoft marketing messages telling me how great they are we're constantly reading, err on the same page, how crap they are. Could this be because microsoft put more money into marketing than actual r&d/quality control/product development? You be the judge...

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge
        Holmes

Just a bit of cognitive dissonance. This IS 2014, you should be used to it by now, it's practically a civilizational scourge. Or are you never watching the news?

1. tempemeaty

I tend to ask myself if accepting sub-par quality is really the right thing to do.