back to article Danger, Will Robinson! Beware the hidden perils of BYOD

When I first became involved with networked PCs, the company I was working with was upgrading its NetWare 2.0a installation to 2.15. We were pushing the boundaries of networking with our three-way gateway connecting Ethernet, Token Ring and PCnet. The only local storage on all but the most high-end PCs was a floppy drive, and …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Jay 2
    Happy

When BYOD works for me

On the subject of BYOD(ish) for my remote needs I can use Citrix Receiver or VMware View to connect into a Windows desktop env from my Mac or iPad. Both are very useful for weekend/out-of-hours support that being a sys admin usually incurs. Because I'm an owner of fruity tech I also have become the unofficial Apple support bod when it comes to linking BYOD kit to the office.

I also have a 2005/6 vintage work HP laptop which is still running XP (recently rebuilt) and that can use VPN to get in. But it runs like a dog nowadays, so I prefer to use my own kit.

There's no choice for BYOD when it comes to phone, so I still have a work Blackberry and my own iPhone.

1. fnusnu

Re: When BYOD works for me

Call yourself a Sys Admin and you still use XP?

Do you still have the box for your computer?

1. Cliff

Re: Do you still have the box for your computer?

Nobody keeps the box for 14 years, don't be silly.

2. Jay 2

I'm a Linux Sys Admin who has to put up with what the company provides. Hence I prefer to use my own kit...

3. big_D Silver badge

My last employer is still running XP machine from 2002 / 2003... You can probably guess why they are an ex-employer. ;-)

BYOD isn't really an option here. It is illegal to put corporate data on a non-corporate machine.

2. James 51

At last, someone who understands what the playbook was/is. The split between the personal/business apps and data in BB sounds like it's exactly what you're after.

1. bazza Silver badge