back to article Microsoft spells out new rules for exiling .EXEs

Microsoft has updated the methodology it uses to define adware, a move designed to make it clearer just what the company considers worthy for removal by its malware tools. Redmond's new rules are simple: an application is adware if any of the following criteria are met: It breaks the “unwanted behaviour” rules (in more …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Tannin

Kudos

Full credit to Microsoft in this instance. (And if you know me, that's not something I say often or easily.) This is very welcome news.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Kudos

Man, the MS shills are getting up early these days! What are they paying you to say these things?

1. Wzrd1 Silver badge

"Man, the MS shills are getting up early these days! What are they paying you to say these things?"

I'm an information security professional, but a former BOFH.

My very first thought was yours, followed instantly by "what if" licensing bullshit.

Knowing quite well Microsoft's leverage habits and licensing games, I call bullshit and suggest it's a ploy to either extort other software providers fees to support their software and updates or the most laden in support requirements feature in the history of mankind.

Consider how many updates there are for the shitware Adobe Flash, Java and its seventeen million fixes, then consider smaller company software, such as Autocad and open source software.

Knowing Microsoft's history, it's either the most laden for support good idea or it's a poison pill, as any who refuse to pony up and is popular will lower the usage of the OS.

In one, I'm thinking in particular. Adobe Flash, as Facebook is built upon it and requires incessant updates for their nonsense games to work.

And to be honest, is the quickest reported problem in an the update system.

When the worker is pissed off that their favorite "program" doesn't work, the helpdesk overflows. We get notification.