back to article Microsoft, Cisco: RC4 encryption considered harmful, avoid at all costs

Microsoft has urged the Windows world to dump the once trusty but now distrusted RC4 encryption algorithm – and pick something stronger. Cisco has also told its customers to "avoid" the cipher. RC4, developed in 1987, is a popular stream cipher that's often used in HTTPS connections to protect sensitive network traffic from …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Lets not forget that the US government has banned export of certain crypto tech for years.

1. K

I'm no encryption expert, but there certain flaws with this

1) Many of the encryption methods are openly available as open source.

2) Even when a provider "enforces" these conditions, the most I have ever seen is "What country are you from" and "do you agree to export limitations"..

Thats a majorly effective export ban going on there!

1. Wzrd1 Silver badge

And yet, I can download AES, sha-2, RC5 and RC6 as freeware all over the world, hosted all over the world, written by coders all over the world.

I'll stick with that which matters most. The US DoD stopped using sha-1 ages ago, dumped RC4 ages ago and either goes with AES, AES or AES.

The DoD smartcards dropped 1024 bit keys in favor of 2048 bit keys.

I figure that they did it for a good reason, not to simply change shit.

There was also some rumbling about quantum computers in use, though the degree of which what was in use was restricted to circles far more ratified than Snowden had access to.

No, I'll not comment further.

1. Suricou Raven

2048b is really a minimum for RSA. It's secure for now, but if you want your communications to remain secure in the future 4096b is advisable. Any more is just silly.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward