back to article Makerbot vows to plonk a 3D printer in every one of Uncle Sam's schools

Makerbot, one of the most visible companies behind 3D printing, has kicked off a new program that aims to get one of its mini-manufacturies in every school in America. "As a former teacher, I believe strongly in creating a new model for innovation. A MakerBot is a manufacturing education in a box," gushed Makerbot CEO Bre …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Tom 35

change the whole paradigm

Warning! Bull shit alert! Warning!

2. JP19

"Instead of waiting for someone to create a product for you, you can create your own"

When I was at school we had wood and metalwork shops and lessons and we did create things using materials and techniques which were much more relevant to real world manufacturing then than 3D printing is now.

I still have and use a pipe wrench I made from steel 40 years ago.

Just more 3D printing is the future bullshit. Only real value I can see is in supporting the teaching of 3D CAD although having to make what you designed on a CNC mill would be much more informative.

1. TheFatMan

Re: "Instead of waiting for someone to create a product for you, you can create your own"

Back when I was a caveman we made things out of stone.

I still have a wheel I invented - I knew when those crazy kids started using "Metal" it would be the end

1. frank ly

@TheFatMan Re: "Instead of waiting for someone to create a product for you .....

I can understand your thinking behind that easy put down, but I'm sure he's right. If you consider how this will probably be used by children and teachers, it will be like the teaching of 'computing' using Word and Excel to teach children 'how computers work'. You don't teach someone how a car works by showing them how to drive it around a quiet urban backstreet.

2. Gordon 10
      FAIL

Re: "Instead of waiting for someone to create a product for you, you can create your own"