back to article How my batch process nightmare was solved by a Wombat

“I enjoy these night shifts but what I’d really like is a six-day week with a three-day weekend.” Today's pocket sociologist – let's just call him "Seb" to protect his anonymity – might be onto something here. I'd popped into the office on my way home after a long day buzzing from one client premises to another, only to remain …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Uncle Slacky Silver badge

WOMBAT

As in "Waste Of Money, Brains and Time"?

http://www.catb.org/jargon/html/W/WOMBAT.html

2. Putters
    Facepalm

Can't be co-incidence (can it ?)

Many many moons ago when I was a spotty trainee at Philips had the joys of bashing around in VMS. When you typed HELP, it gave a list of commands.

The last one on the list was WOMBAT.

Typing HELP WOMBAT gave the following response - "A Wombat is a small Australian marsupial "

1. Martin
      Coat

Re: Can't be co-incidence (can it ?)

And what do you do with a Wombat?

Play Wom with it.

1. MikeOxlong

They go hand in hand with a Womble then do they? (pronounced Womball for you non English)

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wombles‎

for more information

2. GBE

The VMS wombat help article was actually pretty extensive, and if you had smart enough terminal (e.g. VT240) even included a half-way decent picture of a wombat. I don't know if all of that was available from the command-line or if the more extensive wombat info and graphics was only available from withing some specific subsystem...

3. Sir Barry
    Pint

Happy Birthday Alistair, have a pint.

1. Alistair Dabbs

>>> have a pint

Thanks, Barry, I might do that.

4. Lee D Silver badge