back to article Reg hack battles Margaret Thatcher's ghost to bring broadband to the Highlands

Scottish broadband remains an elusive dream for many, despite the money being poured into BT's coffers, but pigeonhole a Reg reporter and you might just get lucky. That's what Ronny did. He grabbed your correspondent at a ward meeting where reps from Community Broadband Scotland were polling householders for their opinions – …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Kevin Johnston

Hmmmm...Glenmorangie....

Now here's a thought. I don't remember everything from your trials and tribulations on the initial build but I am sure that a tower was considered and rejected for various reasons but this latest article makes me wonder. Has anyone considered approaching Glenmorangie to see if they would act as a hub or at least a host for aerials? I'm no expert but I suspect there is a better than fair chance they would look at this from the community aspect as it never hurts to be known for leaning towards altruism.

1. Rampant Spaniel

Re: No....

We could just do a Ranolph on the warehouse, after emptying it of course.

Great article, nice to see some ingenuity, not to mention helping each other.

1. I ain't Spartacus Gold badge
        Coat

I would certainly be willing to help in this community effort. If there's a ton of Glenmorangie in the way, blocking righteous radio signals, then it must be dealt with at once! As an Englishman with perfect broadband, I see it as my civic duty to give something back for those less fortunate than myself*. Therefore I am willing to drink as much of the offending liquid as is necessary to enable radio signals to pass freely, as nature intended.

*I leave it as an exercise for you, dear reader, to decide which is a worse disadvantage. Having no broadband, or being Scottish...