back to article Virgin Media signs 3-year telly deal with BT Sport

BT has inked a three-year wholesale deal with Virgin Media to allow the cable company to serve BT Sport television channels to its customers. Financial terms of the agreement were kept secret. It comes just days before the kickoff of the new Premier League season and is a clear move to gently lean on pay-TV behemoth BSkyB. …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Bit Brain

Not too fussed about the BT Sports channels…

…but I'm so glad to have ESPN back. I was getting withdrawals after ESPN America closed down. Luckily I have an Apple TV and a subscription to MLB.tv but missed shows like Baseball Tonight.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Here come the 50 obligatory comments from people making sure everyone else knows they don't like football.

3. Don Dumb
    Flame

Not just football

I do get annoyed when football (a sport I do like but just not my favourite) dominates to the exent that it is the only sport talked about. The arrival of BT Sport affects rugby fans much more than football fans.

This season, you can watch many live football Premiership games on other broadcasters and several broadcasters, even the BBC, show extended highlights of them all. However, you can only watch live Pemiership Rugby on BT Sport, with a small highlights package on ITV.

From a selfish point of view, it's a real kick in the teeth for me, I have Sky (broadband and telly) in the house, I was looking forward to watching the cricket and the rugby. Now after the Lions tour has ended I just get the cricket. If I wanted to watch football it wouldn't matter, still loads of games on Sky and tons of highlights of every game. Unfortunately ITV's highlights of the rugby is awful, usually terrible quality and most games are just 30 second round ups of of the trys.