back to article Swisscom chief dead in apparent suicide

Swisscom has appointed an interim CEO, after announcing that 49-year-old Carsten Schloter was found dead in his flat in Fribourg on July 23. While a police investigation is ongoing, police has describing his death as “an apparent suicide”, according to Reuters. Urs Schaeppi has been appointed interim CEO. Prior to joining …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. JaitcH
    Meh

Always on culture

Way back, in the days of pagers, you could turn them off or 'be out of range' and the calling party / boss wouldn't know. Now cell handsets can be traced and / or verified, and I don't mean by the NSA / FBI.

As a manager I prevent any company related calls being forwarded to employee cell handsets. Our company has a 'managed' telephone system whereby all our calls are routed through call management system which re-directs calls to a pre-arranged plan. Since the company actually owns our cell handsets, which are also used as internal office intercoms, this is an easy policy to implement.

Employees off-time should be sacrosanct, unless they receive remuneration for being available, and genuine freedom from employment activities benefits both the employer and employee. We didn't 24/7 communication in years past and 'pocket billiards' kept our hands busy.

IMO, suicide is neither a solution for the actor nor friends / family and is a very selfish act.

1. proto-robbie
      Holmes

Re: Always on culture

I just can't agree with the first part of your last line.

It's definitely a solution for "the actor", decisive and positively final. Anyhow, the poor chap will not be minded to reconsider, despite your misgivings. Number unobtainable...

2. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge

> Employees off-time should be sacrosanct

I wish. Try to do that in SMBs with 24 x 7 infrastructure.

> suicide ... a very selfish act.