back to article Azure inhales open source Java implementation

Microsoft and Azul Systems have hoisted the open source Java implementation OpenJDK onto the Redmond's Azure cloud, giving developers access to the language on Azure's Windows-based cloud services. The news was announced by Azul Systems at the O'Reilly Open Source Convention in Portland, Oregon, on Wednesday. The OpenJDK for …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. JDX Gold badge

Somehow despite being a part-time Java developer, I never heard of OpenJDK. How does it compare to the Oracle implementation (and any others still floating around)?

Is it possible, since Oracle are being so slow with Java, that OpenJDK could actually implement a new version before Oracle do?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

OpenJDK is more detailed

OpenJDK is the (available for flipping years!) development trunk of old, current and new Java versions, where you can get more in-depth (private) source code from, see:

http://openjdk.java.net/

Oracle builds for a new Java versions tend to stop being released there when the production releases start.

If you want to see the private JDK source code (not in the SDK), OpenJDK is compulsory; all competent Java developers should know this!

1. JOKM

Re: OpenJDK is more detailed

Oracle is in the process of handing over their code to the openJDK project, as of version 8 they are effectively the same thing, in fact openJDK points you to oracle's websites for some of the production jdks.

2. JDX Gold badge

Why do I want to look at JDK source code?

And there's the Reg community in a nutshell - ask a totally legitimate question and get one answer and 4 downvotes.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

"And there's the Reg community in a nutshell - a well-known Microsoft shill asks a totally legitimate question and get one answer and 4 downvotes."

FTFYA

2. Bob Vistakin
    Holmes

Sigh