back to article Water, sunshine or pig s***: How will YOU power your data centre?

So you've decided to clean up in Big Data. You're going to have the server farms of all server farms, run the cloud for the world's megacorporations and of course there's this bloke in Silicon Roundabout willing to give you the money. What's your first decision then? It should be to go and steal an idea from another industry …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. jake Silver badge

Easy answer.

Ground source heat pump.

I've been using them for fifteen years ... they just work.

Yes, you still need to "import" electricity ... but there is virtually zero cost when it comes to heating and cooling.

1. itzman

Re: Easy answer.

I did te calculations on GSHP and frankly, it was marginal with oil prices for heating. The real killer was the need to totally redesign the whole house central heating system to deal; with lower departure flows. That plus the heat pump and electrical work, was going to cost around 15 years of oil purchases.

And whilst in a freezing power cut, its possible to rig a generator to run the central heating, a power cut would mean end of all heating with GSHP.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

My calculation was 47 years to break even...

And they are only good for heating-so not much use in a data center.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

"And they are only good for heating-so not much use in a data center."

Run em backwards. Works just fine. Whether they scale well enough to deal with amount of heat put out by a big datacentre though, I've no idea.

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Most of downtown Toronto's AC now uses a big pipe of cold deep lake water from whichever great Lake is next to the city.

2. Michael Wojcik Silver badge

Whether they scale well enough to deal with amount of heat put out by a big datacentre though, I've no idea.