back to article Virtual brownfields: Microsoft's push to woo the VMware masses

The virtualisation war is heating up. With Server 2012 Microsoft is at last bringing a viable platform to the table and Server 2012 R2 looks set to eclipse that. You will get different numbers depending on who you talk to but the general consensus is that Microsoft has managed to grab about one quarter of all new installs. It …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Dominion

Why, not How?

It's an interesting article on how to convert from VMWare to Microsoft, but nothing on why you would convert? What are the technical benefits of MS over VM?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Why, not How?

I currently run Hyper-V and VMware in my home lab, I've been running VMware at various places of work for several years. They're both on a rough par with each other now, some better features in each when compared to the other. VMware has USB support and ability to dynamically change hardware (disks, in particular) with the machines on. Hyper-V has a pretty good memory management system which seems to work much better than VMware, IMO.

Really the choice is down to money, how much does it cost your Enterprise? The really, really good, killer feature of Hyper-V is that now it's a credible Enterprise player, there is now a big stick with the word "Microsoft" written on it that you can use to beat EMC with. Likewise there is a big stick with "EMC" written on it that you can beat MS with. Competition means there are customer wins.

2. TheVogon
      Mushroom

If you use Hyper-V Server 2012 (as opposed to Windows Server 2012) then the OS is completely free. Trevor doesn't seem to be aware of the difference. In an enterprise you would normally user Hyper-V Server due to the greater efficiency / reduced attack surface / lower cost compared to Windows Server.