back to article What did the Lehman Brothers implosion look like to a techie?

I was at Lehman Brothers (AKA "Lehman's", or "The Brothers", spoken in a slightly menacing US-Italian accent) from January 1996 to June 2008, bar a three year gap in the middle for dotcom japes. I was an IT contractor/consultant with several groups in the Fixed Income division, including Credit, which dealt with the infamous …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. shaine
    Thumb Up

I also left just before the end, and was really lucky.

But Lehmans has a special place in my heart, it is a organisation that I measure all against and most fall short.

2. bigphil9009

Informative article, but gads! Did anyone actually proof-read it beforehand?

3. dave 158

I remember watching you guys coming out on the Monday from the CitiGroup building, sad day and one of those "for the grace, there go I" times.

D

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

So why did Lehman's not survive September 2008? Partially bad luck, with possibly an element of LB being picked to be the fall guy

From what I can tell, most people fairly high up didn't see the trouble coming

After Bear Stearns imploded in March

Think the last one explains the other two ... Bears Stearns was not allowed to collapse like Lehman's did so it sent a message to the banks that they wouldn't be allowed to collapse so no need to worry unduly. Then authorities realized how this message had got across and decided that an example needed to be given and Lehman's were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Of course, that they had the opposite effect of total panic which meant the authorities had to go back to the "this can't happen again mode" with the hope that people would also think "... but then again, they did let Lehman's go".

1. Tom 13

Re: Think the last one explains the other two