back to article Hey, you, dev. What do you mean, storage is BORING?

Many years ago, as an entry-level systems programmer, I decided there were two teams that I was never going to join: the test team and the storage team - because they were boring.* A fellow blogger has a habit of referring to storage as snorage and I suspect that is the attitude of many. So why do I keep doing storage? Well, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. regadpellagru
    Joke

more chequebooks

"If you have ever received more chequebooks in the post from a certain retail bank, I can only apologise."

For so many years, I've been after the guy responsible for sending that parcel of 2^32-1 chequebooks from my bank.

2. Buzzword

Cloud

But cloud computing is making storage invisible. As storage (and computing power) become commodities, the interesting action moves higher up the stack.

Then again I'm a developer, so I would say that....

1. pPPPP

Re: Cloud

Unfortunately clouds aren't magic. Underneath the cloud we have the same old systems we always had. If you ask for a new VM to be provisioned for a production database that demands low latency, and your cloud guy puts it on 7.2K spinning disk, along with 200 test/dev systems and a backup staging pool, you're likely to get a bit annoyed.

There are two things you need from storage: capacity and performance. The former generally comes from the slow, 3.5" X TB disks. The latter nowadays comes from flash, whether it's solid state drives, direct-attached or SAN-attached flash. Flash isn't cheap, but used in the correct places, the cost is offset by the reduction in disk wait times. If the application isn't waiting for I/O, it can get on with what it wants to do, requiring fewer CPU cores, and often fewer servers, fewer licences, etc.

If you just want to dump some data somewhere though, any old cheap storage will do.

1. Alex McDonald 1
        FAIL