back to article Master Beats: Why doesn't audio quality matter these days?

Returning from a school trip to New York, my son handed back most of the $350 spending money we’d given him. Yes, I too thought it was a lot of dosh for a four-day tour but then I have no experience in the matter. When I was a kid, a school trip involved walking up to the pond to catch tadpoles for biology class, not …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Beats vs. BeyerDynamic

You know something's gone very wrong when consumer headphones cost considerably more than the professional ones used to master the music in the first place...

1. Steve K

Re: Beats vs. BeyerDynamic

Not sure that anyone would master on headphones though.........

1. Ash!

Not exclusively, no - but the point is still valid...

2. A J Stiles

Joe Meek used to master on speakers nicked from cheap record players and transistor radios, because that was what he knew people probably would be listening to the finished result on.

2. smashtag
      Stop

If people are mastering solely in headphones then it's no wonder the output sounds awful. You need full range speakers, an accoustically-treated listening environment and experience to be a mastering engineer.

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

And then somebody else to turn the loudness up to 11

1. Will Godfrey Silver badge
          Meh

Actually...

If you want to do the job properly, yes you do master on headphones, and proper studio monitors, and triple check on the car stereo - which often gives surprising results.

3. The Real SteveP