back to article IT salaries: Why you are a clapped-out Ferrari

As a tech careers writer I regularly receive noise about the UK IT “skills shortage", which makes as much sense as saying there’s a shortage of Ferraris. I know this because, according to Blighty's Office for National Statistics, the average weekly pre-tax pay in “computer programming, consultancy and related activities” in …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

> our pay is nearer to the average than it once was

There is definitely an issue in pay of "best vs worst" (depends on organisation of course), but difference in productivity is often 2-5x vs pay difference of 20-25%. That said, I'm sure that's true in most industries.

I do see an issue in interviews for incoming recruits where too many view "programming" as their job. It's a tool, nothing more. If you can't design and solve problems you are no use to me. Being good at "programming" is like having a mechanic who is good with "spanners" - essential, but not useful by itself.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

"the average weekly pre-tax pay in “computer programming, consultancy and related activities” in 2012 was £718.70, which is about the same as a decent Ferrari's cost of ownership""

Surely that's per day? No consultants I know would get out of bed for much less than £500 a day including me.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

He means permies I am sure....

2. xyz Silver badge

Just my thought exactly. You'd have to be really, really crap to get £700 a week.

2. hightower00

Great article

Cracking article, keep up the good work Mr Connor!

3. Why Not?

Average

Thanks Dominic, thought provoking as usual.

Should we not be comparing IT work with Average qualified wage?